top of page

Principal Investigator

Or is the Class of 1956 CD Associate Professor of Physics at MIT. Growing up in Moshav Even-Sapir, Israel, he received his undergraduate degrees in physics and computer engineering from the Hebrew University and his PhD in physics from Tel-Aviv University. He joined MIT as a Pappalardo Fellow in October 2015, and transitioned to a faculty member in July 2017.  Prof. Hen received various fellowships and award in recognition of his work to date, including the APS Fellowship (2022), Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship (2020), APS Stuart J. Freedman Award (2019), U.S. DOE Early Career Award (2019), IUPAP NP Young Scientist Prize (2019), G. Altarelli award (2018), Amar G. Bose Fellowship (2018), FNAL Intensity-Frontier fellowship (2016), Rothschild Fellowship (2015), Israeli Physics Society and Jefferson-Lab dissertation prizes (2015), A. Pazi Award (2013) and the Y. Eisenberg Prize (2011).

Postdoctoral Researchers


Dr. Tyler Kutz


Projects: JLab SRC.


Dr. Justin Estee

Projects: JLab SRC.


Dr. Igor Korover


Projects: JLab SRC, EIC.


Dr. Julian Kahlbow


Projects: JLab SRC and 


Graduate Students


Andrew Denniston [6th year]


Projects: JLab SRC (CLAS12) and Phenomenology


Jackson Pybus [6th year]


Projects: JLab SRC (GlueX), EIC

and Phenomenology


Elena Magdelena Suriano [5th year]


Projects: SiPM based brain PET and fundamental symmetry tests (collaboration with Harvard and MGH)


Hang (Christine) Qi [4th year]


Projects: SRCs and Phenomenology


Natalie Wright [3rd year]

Projects: BAND and Phnomenology


Jason Phelan [3rd year]

Projects: BAND and Phenomenology


Lucas Ehinger [2nd year]

Projects: JLab SRC, EIC


Screen Shot 2021-12-10 at 1.52.42 PM.png

Avishay Mizrahi [Mechanical Engineer Affiliate]


Projects: EIC


Pedro Toledo [Research Affiliate Software Engineer]


Projects: BAND Laser Calibration Systems

Former Members: 
(Grad students, postdocs, and researchers)

Dr. Josh Barrow (Postdoc)

Next position: Postdoc, University of Minnesota.

Dr. Ehoud Pazi (Visiting Scientist, 2021-22)

Next position: Senior Researcher, IAEC, Israel.

Dr. Efrain Patrick Segarra (graduate student)

Next position: Postdoctoral Fellow, Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI).

Dr. Afroditi Papadopoulou (graduate student)

Next position: M.G. Mayer Fellow, Argonne National Lab.

Prof. Nathaly Santiesteban (Postdoc)

Next position: Assistant Professor, University of New Hampshire.

Prof. Adi Ashkenazi (Postdoc)

Next position: Assistant Professor, Tel-Aviv University.


Dr. Arie Beck (Visiting Scientist, 2017-18)

Next position: Senior Researcher, IAEC, Israel.


Dr. Reynier Cruz Torres (graduate student)

Next position: Postdoc, U.C. Berkeley.

Dr. Florian Hauenstein (Postdoc)

Next position: Staff Scientist, Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility.


Dr. George Laskaris (Postdoc)

Next position: Consultant, Ab-initio software.

Dr. Sharon Mey-Tal Beck (Visiting Scientist, 2017-18)

Next position: Senior Researcher, IAEC, Israel.

Dr. Dien Nguyen (Postdoc)

Next position: Assistant Professor, University of Tennessee 

            (starting January 2024; following Isgur Fellowship at the Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility).

Dr. Longwu Ou (graduate student)

Next  position: Senior AI Research Scientist, Lightelligence.

Dr. Maria Patsyuk (Postdoc)

Next position: Staff Scientist, Joint Institute for Nuclear Research, Russia.

Prof. Axel Schmidt (Postdoc)

Next position: Assistant Professor, George Washington University.

Dr. Barak Schmookler (graduate student)

Next position: Postdoc, Center for Frontiers in Nuclear Science, Stony Brook University.

Dr. Holly Szumila-Vance (Postdoc)

Next position: Staff Scientist, Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility.

Prof. Taofeng Wang (Visiting Scientist, 2016-17)

Next position: Associate Professor, Beihang University, China.


Alex Kiral

   Next position: Graduate student, Stanford.

   Honors: Paglia Research Fellow.

Anjali Nambrath

   Next position: Graduate student, UC Berkley.

   Honors: APS CEU Fellowship; Paul E. Gray (1954) Endowed Fund for UROP project; Fulbright fellow.

Kirsten Surrao

   Next position: Graduate student, Columbia University.

   Honors: APS CEU Fellowship.

Samuel Solomon       

   Next position: Graduate student, Caltech.

   Honors: APS CEU Fellowship; 2020 Chemistry Department Award for outstanding research achievements.

Adin Hrnjic

   Next position: Graduate student, UIUC.

Hector Iglesias

   Next position: Graduate student.

Joseph Iosue

   Next position: Graduate student, University of Maryland.

Peninah Levine

   Next position: Graduate student, MIT.

   Honors: APS CEU Fellowship

Adrian Silva

   [MIT Undergrad]

   Honors: APS CEU Fellowship; Paul E. Gray (1954) Endowed Fund for UROP project

Oluwaseun Ogunde

   [MIT Undergrad]

Connor Chung

   [MIT Undergrad]

Sean Gloumeau

   [MIT Undergrad]

Ting-Chun Lin

   [MIT Undergrad] 

Yong-Hui Lim

   [MIT Undergrad]

bottom of page