Principal Investigator

Or grew up in Moshav Even-Sapir, Israel. He received his undergraduate degrees in physics and computer engineering from the Hebrew University and his PhD in physics from Tel-Aviv University. He joint MIT in October 2015 as a Pappalardo Fellow, formally joining the faculty in July 2017.  He received various prizes and fellowships for his work to date, including the Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship (2020), APS Stuart J. Freedman Award (2019), U.S. DOE Early Career Award (2019), IUPAP NP Young Scientist Prize (2019), G. Altarelli award (2018), Amar G. Bose Fellowship (2018), FNAL Intensity-Frontier fellowship (2016), Rothschild Fellowship (2015), Israeli Physics Society and Jefferson-Lab dissertation prizes (2015), A. Pazi Award (2013) and the Y. Eisenberg Prize (2011).

Postdoctoral Researchers

Dr. Florian Hauenstein


Projects: JLab SRC, EIC, Electrons 4 Neutrinos.

Dr. Justin Estee


Projects: JLab SRC.

*starting Oct. 2020.

Dr. Tyler Kutz


Projects: JLab SRC.

Dr. Julian Kahlbow


Projects: JLab SRC and SRC@JINR and GSI.

Dr. Nathaly Santiesteban


Projects: JLab SRC.

*starting Jan. 2021.

Dr. Igor Korover


Projects: JLab SRC, EIC.

*starting Oct. 2020.

Graduate Students

Efrain Patrick Segarra [5th year]


Projects: JLab EMC (BAND), SRC@JINR,

EMC Phenomenology & Nuclear PDFs.

Afroditi Papadopoulou [5th year]


Projects: Neutrino-Nucleus Interactions (MicroBooNE & Electrons-4-Neutrinos)

Andrew Denniston [3rd year]


Projects: JLab SRC (CLAS12) and Phenomenology

Jackson Pybus [3rd year]


Projects: JLab SRC (GlueX), EIC

and Phenomenology

Elena Magdelena Suriano [2nd year]


Projects: SiPM based detectors and gamma-ray detection arrays

Hang (Christine) Qi [1st year]


Projects: SRCs and Phenomenology


Natalie Wright [post-baccalaureate student]


Projects: Neutrino-Nucleus Interactions (MicroBooNE & Electrons-4-Neutrinos)

Alex Kiral [Paglia Research Fellow]


Projects: JLab SRC

Dr. Sharon Beck [Research Affiliate]


Projects: JLab SRC

(BAND, Data-Mining)

Pedro Toledo [Research Affiliate Engineer]


Projects: BAND Laser Calibration System

Dr. Arie Beck [Research Affiliate]


Projects: OLIVIA and JLab (BAND, Data-Mining)

Undergraduate Students

Anjali Nambrath


Projects: Electrons-4-Neutrinos

Former Members: 

Grad students, postdocs, and researchers

Prof. Adi Ashkenazi (Postdoc)

Current position: Assistant Professor, Tel-Aviv University.

*Starting Oct. 1st 2020.

Dr. Dien Nguyen (Postdoc)

Current position: N. Isgur Fellow, Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility.

Dr. Holly Szumila-Vance (Postdoc)

Current position: Staff Scientist, Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility.

Dr. Reynier Cruz Torres (graduate student)

Current position: Postdoc, U.C. Berkeley.

Prof. Axel Schmidt (Postdoc)

Current position: Assistant Professor, George Washington University.

Dr. Maria Patsyuk (Postdoc)

Current position: Staff Scientist, Joint Institute for Nuclear Research, Russia.

Dr. George Laskaris (Postdoc)

Current position: Consultant, Ab-initio software.

Dr. Barak Schmookler (graduate student)

Current position: Postdoc, Center for Frontiers in Nuclear Science, Stony Brook University.

Dr. Longwu Ou (graduate student)

Current position: Industry.

Dr. Arie Beck (Visiting Scientist, 2017-18)

Current position: Senior Researcher, IAEC, Israel.

Dr. Sharon Mey-Tal Beck (Visiting Scientist, 2017-18)

Current position: Senior Researcher, IAEC, Israel.

Prof. Taofeng Wang (Visiting Scientist, 2016-17)

Current position: Associate Professor, Beihang University, China.


Ms. Kirsten Surrao

   Next position: Graduate student, Columbia University.

   Honors: APS CEU Fellowship.

Mr. Samuel Solomon       

   Next position: Graduate student, Caltech.

   Honors: APS CEU Fellowship; 2020 Chemistry Department Award for outstanding research achievements.

Mr. Adin Hrnjic

   Next position: Graduate student, UIUC.

Mr. Hector Iglesias

   Next position: Graduate student.

Mr. Joseph Iosue

   Next position: Graduate student, University of Maryland.

Ms. Peninah Levine

   Next position: Graduate student, MIT.

   Honors: APS CEU Fellowship

Mr. Adrian Silva

   [MIT Undergrad]

   Honors: APS CEU Fellowship; Paul E. Gray (1954) Endowed Fund for UROP project

Mr. Oluwaseun Ogunde

   [MIT Undergrad]

Mr. Connor Chung

   [MIT Undergrad]

Mr. Sean Gloumeau

   [MIT Undergrad]

Mr. Ting-Chun Lin

   [MIT Undergrad] 

Mr. Yong-Hui Lim

   [MIT Undergrad]

The BAND Gang