Principal Investigator

Or grew up in Moshav Even-Sapir, Israel. He received his undergraduate degrees in physics and computer engineering from the Hebrew University and his PhD in physics from Tel-Aviv University. He joint MIT in October 2015 as a Pappalardo Fellow, and formally joined the faculty in July 2017.  He received various prizes and fellowships for his work to date, including the Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship (2020), APS Stuart J. Freedman Award (2019), U.S. DOE Early Career Award (2019), IUPAP NP Young Scientist Prize (2019), G. Altarelli award (2018), Amar G. Bose Fellowship (2018), FNAL Intensity-Frontier fellowship (2016), Rothschild Fellowship (2015), Israeli Physics Society and Jefferson-Lab dissertation prizes (2015), A. Pazi Award (2013) and the Y. Eisenberg Prize (2011).

Postdoctoral Researchers

Dr. Adi Ashkenazi

email: adishka@mit.edu

Projects: MicroBooNE, 

Electrons 4 Neutrinos.

Dr. Holly Szumila-Vance

email: hszumila@jlab.org

Projects: JLab SRC.

Dr. Dien Nguyen

email: dien@jlab.org

Projects: OLIVIA, JLab SRC, EIC.

Dr. Florian Hauenstein

email: hauenst@jlab.org

Projects: JLab SRC, EIC, Electrons 4 Neutrinos.

Dr. Tyler Kutz

email: tkutz@mit.edu

Projects: JLab SRC, EIC.

Dr. Julian Kahlbow

email: jkahlbow@mit.edu

Projects: JLab SRC, EIC.

Graduate Students

Reynier Cruz Torres (5th year)

email: reynier@mit.edu

Projects: JLab (Tritium, BAND) and phenomenology (Contact formalism).

Afroditi Papadopoulou (4th year)

email: apapadop@mit.edu

Projects: Neutrino-Nucleus Interactions (MicroBooNE & Electrons-4-Neutrinos)

Efrain Patrick Segarra (4th year)

email: segarrae@mit.edu

Projects: JLab (BAND), SRC@BMN, EMC Effect & Nuclear PDFs

Jackson Pybus (2nd year)

email: jrpybus@mit.edu

Projects: JLab (CLAS12) and Phenomenology

Andrew Denniston (2nd year)

email: awild@mit.edu

Projects: JLab (CLAS12) and Phenomenology

Researchers

Dr. Sharon Beck [Research Affiliate]

email: smtbeck@mit.edu

Projects: Ps. Decay and JLab (BAND, Data-Mining)

Pedro Toledo [Research Affiliate Engineer]

email: ptoledo@mit.edu

Projects: BAND Laser Calibration System

Dr. Arie Beck [Research Affiliate]

email: ariebck@mit.edu

Projects: OLIVIA and JLab (BAND, Data-Mining)

Undergraduate Students

Anjali Nambrath

email: nambrath@mit.edu

Projects: Electrons-4-Neutrinos

Samuel Solomon

email: solomons@mit.edu

Projects: GCF and JLab Data-Mining

Hector Iglesias

email: higlesia@mit.edu

Projects: JLab Data-Mining

Nathan Basinger

email: nbase@mit.edu

Projects: Laser Calibration System

Former Members

Prof. Axel Schmidt (Postdoc)

Current position: Assistant professor, George Washington University.

Dr. Maria Patsyuk (Postdoc)

Current position: Staff scientist, Joint Institute for Nuclear Research, Russia.

Dr. Barak Schmookler (graduate student)

Current position: Postdoc, Center for Frontiers in Nuclear Science, Stony Brook University & BNL.

Dr. Longwu Ou (graduate student)

Current position: Industry.

Dr. Arie Beck (Visiting Scientist, 2017-18)

Current position: Senior Researcher, IAEC, Israel.

Dr. Sharon Mey-Tal Beck (Visiting Scientist, 2017-18)

Current position: Senior Researcher, IAEC, Israel.

Prof. Taofeng Wang (Visiting Scientist, 2016-17)

Current position: Associate Professor, Beihang University, China.

The BAND Gang